War of the Ring: Second Edition Reviews

War of the Ring: Second Edition has 108 reviews with an average rating of 4.15 / 5.

Rating Summary (108 Total)

37
51
14
2
0

Comprei na compulsão. Dificil descrever quando se é fã.

1/31/2021

What can I say about this game that hasn't already been said? If you love Lord of the Rings, this truly is the game to get, it tells the whole story and does it in a beautifully thematic way making the Fellowship player feel absolutely crushed and the Shadow player feels incredibly dominant and, perhaps, a bit evil. I don't get to play this often, but this will stay around in my collection for as long as I can defend it.

1/28/2021

I respect the game so I am giving it a 10. However, the kind of warfare doesnt fit my taste.

12/4/2020

As a military simulation (wargame), it ain't that great....apart from the luck of the draw and the dice rolls, which do a fine job of simulating the inherent chaos of war. As a Middle Earth simulation, it's amazing what a fine job the designers have done!Contrary to what most have said here, the rules aren't THAT complicated: they're merely long. And so is the game! If it could be played in a much shorter amount of time, my rating would be much higher. I play games which are MUCH longer than War of the Ring; but when the play-value of WotR is compared with the necessary time-commitment, it reduces my rating for the game from (maybe?) an 8.85 down to an 8.War of the Ring is essentially a game of chaos management and a game one plays for the experience, rather than as an opportunity to plot out a grand unchanging strategy: one needs to be ready to roll with the punches with which Lady Luck will inevitably pummel you. If you dislike chaos, avoid this game! But having said all that, you will never win on luck alone....but you might lose on luck alone!

11/3/2020

Ugh, the rules! So many rules I really haven't figured out yet how to play properly. Massive game with fantastic production though. Maybe my rating will improve once I understand how to play.

10/15/2020

Playing the bad guys does seem easier. Also, everyone always wants to be the Fellowship, so it is actually hard to get to the table. It is a good game though, very thematic and fun but a bit long for what it is.

8/5/2020

This is quite an amazing game. Asymetric sides, dripping with theme, multiple ways to win, combat as well as hidden Fellowship. The designers have captured most of the characters, events, and locations from the books and incorporated it into the game. Excellent concept and true to the story or the story's potential. It's great to play each side, as they play so differently from each other. I love the tension involved with the various aspects of the game, such as when to separate companions from the fellowship, when to use cards as an event or for combat advantages, and when and where to initiate an assault on the enemy cities/strongholds. Epic wargame level that takes a few games into it to become familiar with the rules and gameplay. Absolutely the best thematic game I've ever played. I would prefer wooden discs as units over the plastic figures, for playability. There's a file created by a user here who made an excellent set of stickers for wooden discs. Someday...(2nd Edition Comments) Better board, slight tweaks to rules and characters, bigger cards, better Nazgul sculpts, and cleaner rules.

4/1/2020

Man I wanted to like this. I'm a big fan of the books (probably have read them half a dozen times) and the movies but this game is just too slow for me. I played twice as Sauron and won both times but I took little pleasure from it. The first was a military victory which was okay but the second was a corruption of the Ring-bearers in Mordor which was just lame and just felt like luck. I know that the fact that I loaded the bag in my favor was a big part of the strategy and why I won but it didn't really feel that way. I think I would like playing the free peoples even less. This one just doesn't do it for me. If it was the only game I owned I'd certainly play it again but with so many other choices, this one is unlikely to hit the table again.

1/26/2020

This game is full of tense and interesting decisions. It's strategic and dramatic and I've enjoyed it so far. Though there is a bit more randomness then I typically prefer, it fulfills a fun niche in my collection where I want something challenging for just two players. So far I'd say: it's important to play with someone around your skill level because it's not fun if you're mismatched. Otherwise it's good if you're in the mood for dice chucking.

1/25/2020

Tom Vasel's Top 100 2012 #81 People's Choice Top 100 2012 #54 The Treebeard character will be available to BoardGameGeek users through the BGG store by the end of October/early November, and it will also be distributed at Essen Spiel 2012

1/20/2020

Great game, just too cumbersome for solo play.

12/3/2019

cardhaus

11/12/2019

Incredibly thematic and high quality components. Takes a bit long, but it's so immersive that you don't care.

11/11/2019

Sadly, not our type of game

11/6/2019

Masterfully themed and such great involvement of the characters. A bear to set up and teach, but would love to play it several times (see SUSD podcast review).

11/3/2019

With: [thing=132430][/thing] [thing=122328][/thing]

10/20/2019

Second edition makes very minor technical and aesthetic improvements on the already brilliant original. For a card driven game it doesn't suffer too much from "memorize the deck or else!" syndrome--as long as you tell new players about a few key cards "don't leave Saruman alone if the ents are out!" "there is a card in here that lets an army with a leader move two spaces!" you should be fine. Probably the most flavorful LOTR game I've played, and being the LOTR fan I am that is enough to move it to my top game list. The main negative I can think of is that the dice pool is so small that a few bad rolls of the action dice can screw you at times, which can be a problem since the entire game is built around the action dice.

6/26/2019

Excellent components! BEST artwork, less like the movies and more like old Tolkien book art. Update: I finally got this to the table (Collector's Edition, thanks Ian!!). I can't stop thinking about this game, the cards, the strategy, the cinematic and epic story that's told. [I]It is precious to me, though I buy it with great pain[/I].

3/6/2019

Amazing game, I'm a huge LotR nerd, so this is just perfect for me. I want to get some more plays in and delve into cool strategies for each side

3/6/2019

Soooo thematic. I love LotR. I want to play this more often, but just can't get it to the table.

1/22/2019

[Draw bags for randomize some tiles] [Sleeved]

1/18/2019

Started playing with my brother, we went through the rules and enjoyed it a lot, but we had to stop playing since we didn't have enough time. We will start another game soon. The game feels and looks very epic, but it takes pretty long to set it up, so I will build a custom insert to reduce the set up time.

1/10/2019

y

1/9/2019

In Germany

12/22/2018