Arctic Scavengers: Base Game + HQ + Recon Reviews

Arctic Scavengers: Base Game + HQ + Recon has 60 reviews with an average rating of 3.48 / 5.

Rating Summary (60 Total)

6
22
25
3
1

One of my first deckbuilding games that thanks to the expansions provides a nice deal of variety. The skirmish mechanic is also a great component, adding some real pvp opportunity and openings for bluffing. Usually a common sight in our game nights. I would say best played with 4 or 5 players.

12/9/2020

Tbh the best deck building game I've ever tried. The game at least does feel thematic, but it still has some big problem with runaway leader, interactive cards not effective enough to warrant purchase, pointless tools cards and such. I feel some balance chances to cards pool will make it much better, but it's meh as of now

11/27/2020

Basing this review on my past memory of playing this game. Bought this to move away from Dominion and i remember liking the game a lot but the expansions i thought, at the time, muddied the experience making it unnecessarily complicated.My opinion of this game could easily change, either way, with a few more playthroughs.

11/8/2020

A deck builder with a strong theme. The foundation is solid, but there are a few too many rule exceptions and little things that stop it from reaching greatness. Also, the modular expansions in Recon are super messy; Even the manual doesn't seem to have a clear idea about how all the different modules should be used together.

8/12/2020

One of the most thematic deck building games I've played. I tend not to like this genre, but this one has emergent storytelling, not too much 'take that!' gameplay, and does not overstay its welcome.

7/26/2020

December 2019$18.04 eBay

7/26/2020

Sell - Pretty standard deckbuilder with a cool skirmish mechanism. Lack of variety holds back somewhat.

7/24/2020

Good competitive deck-builder. I very much enjoyed how bluffing is incorporated into this game.

2/14/2020

A disappointing deck builder with little replay value. Fun the first 5 times maybe.

1/28/2020

I like this less than I remembered. Ending every hand with a blind-ish bid for an unknown thing is iffy.

1/3/2020

I'm not a big fan of deckbuilders anymore, but this one was pretty good. Almost like Dominion meets Dead of Winter.

10/18/2019

It has a lot of good things going for it. The theme comes across in the gameplay perfectly. You really feel the scarceness of resources, and like you're always just a bit behind. The gameplay, which is obviously inspired by Dominion, feels very different in actual gameplay. You have a lot more control over how you build your deck, and can basically put whatever you want into there. There is a lot more reacting to how other players are building their decks, since you fight them directly. The game's flaws are that it can be too same-y without adding in some of the expansions and modules; however, the expansions and modules can bog the game down in tedious rules. It can feel a bit too random at times too.

10/17/2019

7.5 / 2-5p Best 4 / 30-60m / 2015 / 2.32 (Deck Building, MHGG says better than Dominion, included 2 Expansions)

6/15/2019

Currently have Jason's copy.

1/24/2019

Someone in our game group already has a copy of this game (2 people in fact!), but I really, really enjoyed this deck builder. I like the tactical feel and the limited decision making when it comes to purchasing cards.

1/10/2019

Arctic Scavengers is a deck-building game with a fairly unique mechanic in which players contest for a specific resource each turn. To contest for that resource, players hold back cards during their turn; these cards are blind, so other players only know how many but not which specific card are held back. This mechanic, plus the dark postapocalyptic theme, makes the game quite unique among deck builders. Unfortunately, the actual deckbuilding aspect of the game is weak - there aren't enough cards to buy and the handful of better cards disappear quickly, often going to the players that got lucky early on. You definitely must play with the expansions to reduce this problem. The game is also quite long with 5 players, due to the player interaction, so I recommend playing with fewer (but more than two, to get the full effect of the player conflict that makes the game unique). So, a decent game, but one that has two many flaws to be worth playing more than a few times.

1/9/2019