Space Base Reviews

Space Base has 162 reviews with an average rating of 3.71 / 5.

Rating Summary (162 Total)

16
84
52
4
1

+ The Emergence of Shy Pluto+ Command Station

2/21/2021

Good game just that if you play too much of it, it will get stale.

2/16/2021

Playing Space Base is like building a galactic slot machine that continuously spits out credits; unfortunately its less fun than it sounds. Players rotate rolling dice and can choose to active each die seperately, or join them for a single action. This facet of the game is actually quite nice. Even though the choice of splitting or combining dice is often obvious, it is nonetheless agency. Choosing new ship cards is a bit more substantive, but isn't a taxing selection either. And this is all well and good; a few choices there, a few choices here, and the occasionally windfall of money and points. The problem with Space Base is that it choose to use dice with six sides. Since each player has a tableau of twelve slots the most powerful ships will rarely activate, which in turn extends the game. With such a wide tableau, the game of random chance feels too random, and since fortune strikes so rarely, the game limps toward its conclusion. The idea of a credit spewing slot machine is great in premise, but watching it spew for over an hour is far too long. Instead you'd want a slot machine supernova in around half the time.

1/29/2021

I love a good engine builder and this definitely fits the bill. Replaces Machi Koro in any collection.

1/28/2021

Fun engine building and dice chucking. Always something going on and you can adjust your strategy as the game goes on or as a reaction to your opponents. Fun family game as well.

12/29/2020

Space Base is a refinement of the dice rolling system of Machi Koro—the active player rolls the dice, and everyone might get something depending on which cards they’ve built. Here, players are building ships that go in slots 1-12 on their player boards, corresponding with possible dice rolls. When bought, cards go to the active section, which corresponds with what you roll when you’re the active player. Any card already in that slot gets kicked to the opposing player section, which triggers when another player rolls that value. Many of the cards provide income or points, but there are a number of cards that provide more complicated abilities for manipulating dice rolls or which slots cards go in. I enjoyed this one more than Machi Koro, if for no other reason that there’s a lot less take-that. Still, it’s just a light card game that can be prone to the right cards not being available at the right times or dice rolls not going your way. Enjoyable, but don’t take it seriously.(1 play)

12/17/2020

Sleeved

12/8/2020

Space base was a good time but the production was a bit "iffy". I swear i need to check the weight of the die as it landed on 9 way too often and one of the pips was not colored in so when the dice read "4" i had to remind people that it was a four and not a three.Outside of that, any game that allows for massive combos is a pretty good time to me. The rules maybe a bit confusing as to when/where you can use "charged cards".

11/8/2020

Essential fires any need desire to play Mach Koro. A nice improvement on that system.

8/5/2020

MUCH better than Machi Koro. The different strategies based on the number of players is neat as well. The engines start very slow but ramp up heavily towards the end of the game

8/1/2020

April 2020$27.79 cardhaus

7/26/2020

I like the game, the idea of getting points based on your opponent's dice is good, but I don't like the components and trackers. There are more cards to increase your victory point rather than your income, I don't like this as well.

5/3/2020

Rating based on 1st play, which was quite alright. Purchased this one at Spiel 2019, now let's see if we can get this one to the table.

3/18/2020

No Review Description

2/25/2020

Sleeved with SleeveKings Plus: - Shy Pluto (Want)

1/30/2020

I wasn't much looking for Machi Koro improved, but here it is. Pretty cute and inoffensive, but on first blush I find it rather difficult to conceive of the game being very well balanced--if you can get a points engine going on card rows 1-6 while others can't, that's the game right there.

1/26/2020

No Review Description

1/12/2020

A good game that gives the illusion of being able to make smart choices, when really it's all up to luck. Which can be fun! But in that genre, I prefer Quacks.

12/11/2019

Has much more hype than it deserves. Really kind of a dumb, not very fun game.

10/18/2019

7.4 / 2-5p BEST 3-4 / 30-75m / 2018 / Family 173 / 2.10 (Dice Tower really liked it, Machi Koro killer, similar but better, Tom's #102 2018)

6/15/2019

I had this game recommended several times before I finally bought it. Even then it took a while to make it off my shelf. I'm glad I did. In this game you host a fleet of star ships that give rewards every time you roll the dice. As you buy new ships you send the old ones out which then can collect rewards when other people roll the dice. Even the dice rolling mechanic has an elegant design. You can use the dice independently to get two smaller rewards or use the combined total for a (sometimes) better reward. I also felt like I was close to winning each game even when I lost.

3/1/2019