War Chest Reviews

War Chest has 55 reviews with an average rating of 3.96 / 5.

Rating Summary (55 Total)

12
26
10
3
0

The game feels far too luck based for a "strategic" game. I feel there really needs to be another generic, sub-optimal anytime use for a token you don't currently want. I found the game rather frustrating as instead of being impressed by a clever play by an opponent, I was often annoyed by my token draw for the turn. It makes the end result unsatisfying because instead the game being defined by a series of clever plays, it instead feels like the winner is just the one with the least amount of blunders. At least the component quality and unit/token variability is excellent.

2/21/2021

Solid good abstract fun here. The quasi bag building is cool and a makes this a great pick for people that normally wouldn't play abstracts.

1/19/2021

2020

1/19/2021

From 5.5 to 8 when played onlineMuch better when play online, when you can clearly see what the opponents have in his/her hand+War Chest: Nobility +War Chest: Siege

1/14/2021

Best abstract that stimulate chess like feeling. Simple, strategic with controlled randomness for good tactical play

11/27/2020

An unsuccessful attempt to combine chess and a deck/bag builder, with the deck building element winning out over abstract strategy. In fact, War Chest is not at all a game of abstract strategy: it's merely cleverly disguised as one, since the game is heavily luck dependent. Yes, some of the pieces have really cool abilities; but it's too bad you can very rarely use them.It is gorgeous looking, however.

11/3/2020

This game is pretty easy to learn (can be taught in 5 minutes by a player who knows the rules), and feels like it could be played many times over without getting old.

9/1/2020

I like a lot of it--the beautiful production, the unit variety, the brisk playing time--but I'm not certain I grok the bag-building yet, and the game seems to come down to very high-risk gambles that you can't really mitigate (will I draw another unit chip of this type next hand or not?). I think I'd be happier if the hand size were larger, or if there were some way to hold onto chips from round to round, or if there were a little more latitude in activating units...? The grindingly attritional nature of most endgames is also unpleasant.

1/26/2020

2/26/19: Being able to draft your own "army" and trying to take down your opponent(s) with each move being critical is what makes this game so great. Having the option to play a reserved turn or push your luck kind of style is such an awesome feature that can let anyone appreciate this game. I have played this as a 2P game more than 4, but it shines with either player count.

1/15/2020

Onitama mixed with a bag builder and 4 pounds of poker chips? Pretty much, and I dig it. Very tactical. Does the abstract war thing of not always being able to command your troops. Very enjoyable.

1/3/2020

No Review Description

7/22/2019