Featuring Board Game Artist of Photosynthesis: Sabrina Miramon

3 points

Hey Sabrina, thank you for making your time! First up, could you tell us a bit about yourself?

Hi, and thanks for having me! I'm Sabrina, a French illustrator based in the U.K. I mostly work for board games and video games, and I also do the occasional book illustration. I studied 3D many (many) years ago, but after a few years I decided that I'd rather be drawing and painting, so I started over and tried to teach myself digital illustration.

I noticed on your resume that you had started off as a background artist on an animated TV series. How was that experience and what kind of role did it play in building up your career?

I did! I started as a junior artist with barely any experience in 2D so I had a lot to learn. I trained under an incredible lead background artist and worked there for 5 years. In this kind of setting you learn to be efficient – production time is really short and there are a lot of shots needed for just one episode. I think it helped me focus on the big picture and not to add too many details—a background should help set the mood without being too distracting.

Sounds like that experience really set you up for your next step! So how exactly did you end up transitioning into the board game industry and what was the first board game you had worked on?

By chance really! Some of the work on my online portfolio got seen by a publisher looking for an illustrator for their upcoming project. They liked my style and I agreed to do an art test to see if we could fit it to their game. It worked out, and I ended up illustrating my first game, The Builders: Middle Ages.

What has been your favorite/least favorite part of working on board game art and why?